VALORANT Ranked And Competitive Changes

VALORANT Ranked And Competitive Changes

Recently, we reported VALORANT Ranked mode would be coming to the closed beta. This information was validated by a data-mined image from reddit detailing seven ranks – ranging from ‘Mercenary’ to ‘Immortal’. Now, a new image reveals that those ranks have already changed.

A new post by a reddit user FloxaY, of an image data-mined from the games files, shows that changes have already been made to the VALORANT Ranked system. Now, aspiring pro’s can expect a ranked ladder that looks almost exactly like the one League of Legends uses – which make’s sense considering both games are developed by Riot Games.

We don’t have the full details yet, but it’s likely VALORANT will introduce “Placement” matches, your performance in those placement games will ultimately decide where you begin your grind at the start of the season.



The new ranking system is as follows:

  • Iron
  • Bronze
  • Silver
  • Gold
  • Platinum
  • Diamond
  • Immortal

Similarly to League of Legends, each rank will hold three tiers, moving up the tiers will require wins – which will gain you points. Once you reach the top tier, it is likely you will have to complete a series of promotional games akin to League.

When Is Ranked Coming?

On April 10th, Riot Zeigler posted on twitter that ranked mode can be expected “within the coming weeks”. Presumably, we will see this system implemented either before the end of April or the start of May.

Make sure to stay up to date on our twitter page, and keep in touch with us via discord for more news. You can also follow me personally @Laezur if you’re into that kind of thing.

About author


Callum is a veteran in the Call of Duty online community, writing and engaging with social media platforms for over 6 years - IPlayCOD is his bread and butter, now excitedly expanding into the VALORANT space